The Witches of Panay – Review

The Witches of PanayTitle: The Witches of Panay

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Author: Fayr Willow

Publisher: Unknown

Publication Date: May 27, 2016

Format: Ebook

Pages: 169

Rating: 2

Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.

 

2 Star

Blurb from GoodReads:

I was a normal girl, went to school, stayed out of trouble, and did my homework. I hung around with my best friend, Chantelle, and worked part-time at my Mama’s floristry. My life on Earth was as normal as anyone’s could be, other than my being a witch. Nothing exciting ever happened. That was, not until the day Jake arrived. Then, slowly everything changed.
Now, I find myself entering Magickal realms, talking to animals, and encountering monsters that I thought were just myths. I am told I am the Chosen One. I have a job to do. I have to save the Earth.

885b3-goodreads-button

My Review:

I hate giving bad reviews but this book just annoyed me. The first few pages were great and made me want to read more but once 11 years had passed my enthusiasm for the story fizzled. The main character, Larissa Emi, was not at all a normal 16 year old and it seemed like everyone talked down to her like she was only 6 instead of 16. When she was 5 and fleeing for her life with her friends and family she seemed like a powerful witch, but at 16 it was like she didn’t even know spells anymore. As I read on it got even worse, now she has to go on a quest to repair the Aurora Borealis  and defeat the Dark Witch to save all the galaxy, all with practically no training. She does have moments of “great power” but she seems as clueless as the humans that live on Earth that know nothing about the paranormal. Parts of the story reminded me of reading The Golden Compass (which I loved) and it wasn’t subtle enough to seem like it’s own story. Needless to say I was very disappointed.

ae464-amazon

Leave a Reply

