#EllieKeys 31 Days of Authors – Ruth Cardello

RC

RC banner

When I think of authors I can contact to give me an honest opinion or some sage advice, Ruth Cardello is one of them. She is one of the authors that I know I can contact and will receive a response, no matter how busy she is. This author is one of the people that I know will assist in promoting and volunteer swag, items, or her time. She is one of the most giving individuals and I will support her as long as there is breath in my body. Here is her interview:

EK– My message to all the authors: Thank you so very much for being willing to sign up to do this interview. I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to get to know you, share your thoughts, and highlight your work.

EK:  What is your pen name?

    1. Is it different from the name on your birth certificate?
    2. How did you come up with your pen name?

Ruth Cardello:  Sadly, or proudly, my pen name is my real name. When I first started self-publishing in 2011 I never dreamed I would become a full-time author. I used my name so my friends and family could find my books. Every once in a while I wish I had a pen name so I could write something really naughty, but the rest of the time I think it’s pretty damn cool to see my real name on the New York Times bestseller’s list.

EK:  Does your work fit into one genre? If not, tell us about it. If so, do the same.

Ruth Cardello:  I write spicy contemporary romances about billionaires and cowboys. I call them bathtub reads. They’re fun, sexy, escapism romances about hot alpha men and the strong women who tame them.

EK:   What is the title of your most recent or upcoming release?

Ruth Cardello:  My next release is called Taken Home. It’s the third book in my Lone Star Burn series. Although the series is based in Texas, the hero is a movie star turned senator from California. Playboy meets virgin. Fun stuff. As with all my books, there is a strong central theme of family and healing.

EK:  What inspired this work?

Ruth Cardello: I love to write about hot men with troubled pasts. Mason is just such a man. He finds a second chance and a home when he falls for Chelle.

EK:  What is your favorite thing about writing?

Ruth Cardello:  I love when a story takes on a life of its own and my only job is to type it as fast as I can get it down on paper. That usually happens as soon as the characters come to life for me. Page one is painful for me. As I move through the book the people become real to me and, by the time I end the story, I’m sad to say goodbye to them. (<- I love this answer)

EK: Now for the fun stuff …

EK:  What is your favorite snack while taking a much needed author break?

Ruth Cardello: I’m allergic to chocolate or that might be my sweet of choice. I usually reach for a fruit or popcorn.

EK: What is one of the craziest things you’ve done in your life?

Ruth Cardello:  Online dating back when it wasn’t done. It worked out for me, though, because that’s how I met my husband. He was station in Japan and was hoping to connect with someone back home. At the time we lived one town apart. Small world. We talked on the phone for months. My friends thought I was crazy to feel like I was falling in love with someone I hadn’t met. He came home, though, and straight to me. We’ve been together since. Our ten year anniversary is this summer, so sometimes crazy pays off.

EK:  The house is on fire, what are you grabbing if your family is safe and sound?

Ruth Cardello: If “family” includes my pets, then maybe just my purse. I’m not a person who gets attached to material things. I grew up poor and I was happy. If you have your health and the people you love around you—nothing else really matters.

EK:  What is your “go to” movie, book, or show?

Ruth Cardello: Strangely, I love the movie While You Were Sleeping. I love to watch it around the holidays. I think what touches me about the movie is how much the heroine is yearning for a family.

EK: Who is one of your favorite authors? Why?

Ruth Cardello:  I don’t know that I could pick just one. The amazing thing about how the publishing industry has changed is the sheer number of authors we have to choose from now. We aren’t being spoon fed a few. I will say, though, that I can’t read very dark stories. I know they’re popular and I appreciate them for the great stories they are, but they make me sad. My favorite authors skim the surface of dark, never taking me anywhere too bad, and then give me a story with hot heroes and happy endings that leaving me smiling.

My most recent favorite authors, Jeannette Winters and Danielle Stewart, are family members of mine who have joined my Barrington Billionaire world. They each had their own careers and I lured them into doing this joint project with me. There is no better feeling than creating something with the people I love. I’m over the moon happy about it and proud of them.

EK: Bonus => Have you ever read a book that had you questioning why you were having such a reaction to fictional characters? What book was it?

Ruth Cardello:  I can’t say that I question why. I would be worried if I didn’t have a strong emotional response to someone’s characters. I want to be angry with them, forgive them, fall in love with who they do, and cry when I finish the book because I wish the story never had to end. If you can take me there, you’re a one click buy for me every time.

RC upcoming

EK: Please share your social media links:

www.ruthcardello.com

Twitter @ruthiecardello

FB: https://www.facebook.com/ruthcardelloRC series

Thank you to Ruth Cardello for taking the time to answer these questions. You are appreciated. 

Come back tomorrow to read what responses author Tabetha Thompson gives.

fac35-elliekeyslogo_final

Leave a Reply

