#EllieKeys 31 Days of Authors – T.K. Leigh

 

headshot-bw-small

TK

EK – My message to all the authors: Thank you so very much for being willing to sign up to do this interview. I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to get to know you, share your thoughts, and highlight your work.

EK:  What is your pen name?

    1. Is it different from the name on your birth certificate?
    2. How did you come up with your pen name?

T.K. Leigh:

My pen name is T.K. Leigh. My legal name is Tracy Leigh Kellam. I have no problems with people knowing who I really am. I decided to use a pen name because I’m a lawyer by trade and when you search my real name, all my legal stuff pops up. I didn’t want that to happen if people were searching my books so I decided to write under a pen name. It was pretty easy to come up with the pen name. I always signed all my emails “T.K.” and the hubs always calls me Tracy Leigh so I didn’t want to lose the “leigh” so T.K. Leigh was born.

EK:  Does your work fit into one genre? If not, tell us about it. If so, do the same.

T.K. Leigh:

I write romance and right now, most of it fits in the Romantic Suspense sub-genre, although I do have one book, Heart of Marley, that is more of a Coming Of Age YA (although I caution anyone under 18 about reading it because of strong language and strong themes). With that being said, this year I’m stepping away from the Romantic Suspense genre. My next release, The Other Side Of Someday is more of a Romantic Comedy / Chick Lit and my other WIP, Vanished, will be more of a psychological thriller.

EK:   What is the title of your most recent or upcoming release?

T.K. Leigh:  My upcoming release is The Other Side Of Someday.

EK:  What inspired this work?

T.K. Leigh:  I wanted to write something fun where nobody dies. It’s the story of a 28 year old girl who finds herself divorced after 10 years of marriage. She leaves her small town life in North Carolina and starts over again in the jungle of Los Angeles. It’s really a story of dating for the first time as an almost thirty something and searching for Mr. Right in a world full of Mr. Wrongs when Mr. Right could be right under your nose.

EK:  What is your favorite thing about writing?

T.K. Leigh:  Creating a whole new world.

EK: Now for the fun stuff …

EK:  What is your favorite snack while taking a much needed author break?

T.K. Leigh:  Apples.

EK: What is one of the craziest things you’ve done in your life?

T.K. Leigh:  Have a baby. LOL

EK:  The house is on fire, what are you grabbing if your family is safe and sound?

T.K. Leigh:  I consider my animals to be part of the family so as long as they’re all safe, I’d grab my laptop. All my manuscripts are on there.

EK:  What is your “go to” movie, book, or show?

T.K. Leigh:  Go to movie – Casablanca. Go to book – 11.22.63 by Stephen King. Go to show – Modern Family

EK: Who is one of your favorite authors? Why?

T.K. Leigh:  Ken Follett. I love history and he takes me to a different place and time with such accuracy. I wish more authors took the time to research that he does.

EK: Bonus => Have you ever read a book that had you questioning why you were having such a reaction to fictional characters? What book was it?

T.K. Leigh:  The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. It’s set against the backdrop of WWII and the German occupation of France. We all hate what happened to the Jews and other vulnerable groups during WWII but I really started to feel ill when reading about the aftermath.

EK: Please share your social media links:

FacebookTwitterGoogle plusPinterestTumblrInstagramMailing List

EK: Please share your purchase links:

I have lots of books so here’s the link to my website page that discusses the books and provides purchase links:

http://tkleighauthor.com/tks-books/

41OX19cEYtL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Thank you to T.K. Leigh for taking the time to answer these questions. You are appreciated. 

Come back tomorrow to read what responses author L.B. Dunbar gives.

EllieKeysLogo_final

Leave a Reply

