#EllieKeys 31 Days of Authors – Taisha Demay

Taisha DeMay

I’m so excited about kicking off this month with this project. There are no words to describe just how elated I am. I did not believe I would receive such a quick response when I chose to jump off into this venture. Every author that you will see over this next month responded almost immediately to my request to do an interview. I’m in awe of each of them and ever so grateful. I hope that you find some new faces and new works along this journey. I didn’t rank my author friends and associates. However they responded,  was the order I put them in.

Taisha was the first person to respond and she has come to be a good support. Though I’ve never met her face-to-face, she is one that I look forward to speaking with. I knew I could count on her when I asked her to do this interview.

EK – My message to all of the authors: Thank you so very much for being willing to sign up to do this interview. I’m thrilled to have the opportunity to get to know you, share your thoughts, and highlight your work.

EK:  What is your pen name?

Taisha Demay: My pen name is actually my daughter’s first name and the second I made up.

EK:  Does your work fit into one genre? If not, tell us about it. If so, do the same.

Taisha Demay:  I actually don’t identify with a particular genre. The reason being is since I’m basically starting off new in this industry, I’m still trying to find my niche. I may write a Paranormal story, a Romantic Suspense and even an Erotica themed story. So in a sense like I said, I don’t really identify with any one particular genre.

EK:   What is the title of your most recent or upcoming release?

Taisha Demay:  The title of my upcoming release is Love, Truth and Consequences: Playing Dirty. It’s a BDSM themed story.

EK:  What inspired this work?

Taisha Demay:  I actually became inspired because of sheer curiosity. My knowledge of the BDSM lifestyle. That is to say, Bondage, Dominance and Submission and Sadomasochism you could fit in a thimble. But I was willing to find out about it as well as learn why people would partake in such a thing.

EK:  What is your favorite thing about writing?

Taisha Demay:  My favorite thing about writing would be the research. I love learning new things. It’s what drives me to become a better writer.

EK: Now for the fun stuff …

EK:  What is your favorite snack while taking a much needed author break?

Taisha Demay:  I love Craisins or dried cranberries as well as pistachios and cashews.  

EK: What is one of the craziest things you’ve done in your life?

Taisha Demay:  The craziest thing I’ve ever done in my life was get on a train when I was stationed in Germany while I served in the United States Army and ride until they got to the last stop which ended up in Belgium and I just got out and explored. Of course I had no idea where it was headed; it was just something to do. I love meeting new people and learning new things and going places I’ve never been.

EK:  The house is on fire, what are you grabbing if your family is safe and sound?

Taisha Demay:  My computer and as many of my books as I can handle.

EK:  What is your “go to” movie, book, or show?

Taisha Demay:  I actually love old black and white film noir movies. Casablanca, The Maltese Falcon and things like that. My “Go to” books are anything by Susan Mallery, Linda Lael Miller, Liliana Hart, Diana Palmer and Brenda Jackson.

EK: Who is one of your favorite authors? Why?

Taisha Demay:  My favorite author is Diana Palmer. The reason being is she was the one who really started me loving strong, sexy and flawed cowboys and anytime she comes out with a new book I snap it right up. I own nearly all of her books except for maybe three or four of her earlier work which is no longer in print.

EK: Bonus => Have you ever read a book that had you questioning why you were having such a reaction to fictional characters? What book was it?

Taisha Demay:  Yes. It was actually a book by Tiana Laveen entitled The N’ Word. About a racists man who falls in love with a black woman through the letters she wrote. Not knowing what race she was or even looked like. My reaction was one of disdain for the character initially but as I read on and began to learn where his prejudices stemmed from and I understood. Because having frowned upon during the sixties where it was okay to be blatantly racist and voice it out loud instead of behind closed doors which many people do in this day in age. I appreciated the fact that she made the character so frank and realistic.

Taisha DeMay

EK: Please share your social media links: https://www.facebook.com/Elliesbookshelf  https://www.twitter.com/AuthorTaishaDemay012  https://www.instagram.com/authortaisha  https://www.tumblr/blog/lovetaishademay  https://plus.google.com/u/0/+TaishaDemay  

Linkedin: Author Taisha https://www.goodreads.com/Author/show/1405251.Taisha_Demay  https://www.facebook.com/Elliesbookblog  https://www.facebook.com/ThroughtheFirebyAuthorTaishaDemay012    

EK: Please share your purchase links:

Love, Truth and Consequences: www.amazon.com/dp/B00YO9TASQ  

Through The Fire: www.amazon.com/dp/B015QXYY02

EllieKeysLogo_final

Thank you to Taisha Demay for taking the time to answer these questions. You are appreciated. 

Come back tomorrow to read what responses author Isabelle Peterson gives.

Leave a Reply

