#EllieKeys 30 Days of Me – Get to know me – Day Twenty-five

Ellie Keysget to know me

Today is Day Twenty-five of my daily posts of something new about me or “Get to know the author”.

Yesterday’s post was about a fruit I dislike. I revealed what that fruit is and why.  If you missed it, then feel free to go back and check it out.

I can’t believe I’ve completed twenty-four of my thirty posts. I didn’t think I’d be able to handle kicking these out. I’ve had so much fun doing this. I’ve also gained some followers. Thank you to each person that takes the time to read the craziness that I’m putting out there. I hope you’ll enjoy the posts even when they’re not chalked with juicy details about my life.

what-do-you-want-to-know

Question:

My feelings on ageism? Yeah, not really feeling that question, so I decided to do my feelings on the book world instead. 

I believe, as authors, we are in a wonderful time right now. This world that we have to navigate through is one that can make or break a person. It is like anything in the bigger world. You have to be willing to work at it to gain the prestige you so desire.

Every day, I look on social media and see new authors, new books, new teasers. When I first began, I was intimidated. I was even afraid. There were moments that I said that I was done. It was too hard.

I remembered in those moments, with help from my team of supporters, that it’s going to be hard. Anything worth getting, you have to work for. It’s going to be insane at times. You’ll want to give up. Take a deep breath. Dust yourself off. Get back in it. Only when you know you’ve given all you can do you entertain the thought of letting go. Even then, get a second, third, fourth, eightieth wind and keep pushing.

I look at the “new kids on the block” as individuals there to challenge me to be more creative, think outside of the box. Those who are truly passionate about what we do will be the ones with staying power. I ignore all the cat fighting, back biting, and naysayers. I keep plugging away.

I recently watched an episode of Oprah’s Master Class and Justin Timberlake, 33, was the “master” being interviewed. I loved his outlook on his craft. He stated that he likes being a beginner. I found this interesting. Being a beginner means you’re in the first stages of learning and discovering. As a lover of research, I love that concept. There’s nothing greater, for me, than discovering a new take on things or a new way of doing things. I’m a consummate learner and this ideology suits me. 

One day, I’ll have my day in the sun. If my works touch one, then they day has come. 

Day Twenty-five complete!

what-do-you-want dreamstimemedium_19473030-300x300what-do-you-want

Feel free to ask me a question or post a comment. It is truly welcomed! 🙂

about the author

Ellie Keys is an author of contemporary romance, paranormal romance and mystery. She spends a great deal of her time lending her unrelenting pen to the voices that have taken over her mind. The characters that readers will find in her works have a demanding nature. Ellie is thrilled to be able to share the stories from the wealth of works that she has created.

She lives in Georgia with her son. Her loves outside of writing are reading a good book and losing herself in a great movie. Inspiration comes from everything around her. There is a great deal in store for lovers of romance lovers and suspense seekers.

stalk me

              dff23-website| 0f77d-tumblr| cbdf1-twitter| 25afd-pinterest| 797e2-goodreads| c150a-facebook|Instagram-Logo
EnewsELRJones.jpg
Leave a Reply

