30 Days of me – Get to know me – Day Eleven

Ellie Keysget to know me

Today is Day Eleven of my daily posts of something new about me or “Get to know the author”.

Yesterday’s post was about the one thing that I am excited about. I revealed that in detail. If you missed it, then feel free to go back and check it out.

what-do-you-want-to-know

Question:

The night of your 21st birthday?
Ha! Oh my … what?! That night was and still is completely hi-freaking-larious! I started the day out just like any other.  I had the traditional birthday party with cake and all.  I was then taken to a restaurant in the downtown Detroit area that is now a restaurant with a club above it. I hadn’t expected much. We had our meal and I was asked what drink I wanted. I was excited because it was the first time I would be carded for a drink and I could slap down my i.d. to verify “I was good”. My drink order was a long island ice tea. Most have heard of it.
534809-homemade-long-island-iced-tea Long_Island_Iced_Tea
Yeah, so that’s what it looks like and also the recipe for making one. Needless to say, I picked a whopper for my first drink out the gate. My family members asked me if I was sure that was what I wanted at least four times before the order was placed. I didn’t know the glass would be as tall as it was. I took that first sip and sat back in my chair. I couldn’t believe the flavors that hit my tongue. I sipped a little as I ate and questioned my own sanity with ordering the thing. We weren’t allowed to leave that table until I finished my drink. I didn’t want to hold the rest of my family hostage with me so I took the plunge and sucked down the rest of the drink. I felt fine. I walked in my heels back to the car without any assistance, laughed and joked all the way home, walked to the door and even entered without a problem.
The house I was raised in had a side door that led to steps to the basement. We spent all of our time in the basement. That was our “living room”. My mother and son were in the basement and I had to go down about twelve steps to get to them.  I went down those steps all right. It just wasn’t the traditional way. I ended up at the bottom with one shoe hanging off my foot and the other on the step. I believe there were comments about Cinderella losing a slipper in her drunken stupor that night after everyone realized I was okay. I never made it back up the steps that night. One fall is all it took to make that night my most memorable birthday to date.

Day Eleven complete!

what-do-you-want dreamstimemedium_19473030-300x300what-do-you-want

Feel free to ask me a question or post a comment. It is truly welcomed! 🙂

about the author

Ellie Keys is an author of contemporary romance, paranormal romance and mystery. She spends a great deal of her time lending her unrelenting pen to the voices that have taken over her mind. The characters that readers will find in her works have a demanding nature. Ellie is thrilled to be able to share the stories from the wealth of works that she has created.

She lives in Georgia with her son. Her loves outside of writing are reading a good book and losing herself in a great movie. Inspiration comes from everything around her. There is a great deal in store for lovers of romance lovers and suspense seekers.

stalk me

dff23-website| 0f77d-tumblr| cbdf1-twitter| 25afd-pinterest| 797e2-goodreads| c150a-facebook|Instagram-Logo
EnewsELRJones.jpg
Leave a Reply

