Author Spotlight……….Sydney Landon

Newest release from the Author
Newest release from the Author

Spotlight Author:
Author Sydney Landon

Recent release:
Fighting for You

Author Sydney Landon is one of a handful of authors that actually takes the time to respond to questions and is always there to participate in an upcoming event. Her Danvers Series is such a fantastic series. Admittedly, this reader is a bit behind on the series, but the plan is to catch up when a break in the madness comes. The first book in the series, Weekends Required, takes the reader on a journey as assumptions are made and emotions are fought. It was a fantastic read and have you ready to reach for the next. It’s a good thing that there are four books out.
A little more about Sydney:
This author finds her inspiration her life, current events and her vivid imagination. She would like to work with Jennifer Probst. If you follow her series then you know the characters Emma and Brant. These two will be the featured characters in book 5 of the Danvers series. The book is due out some time this spring for those of your chomping at the bit for the next book in the series. When asked about the work that is closest to her heart she shared: “Probably Falling for Me,” since she’s gone through similar issues.
Five little known fun facts about Sydney: “I’m addicted to Green Apple Chapstick. I have an off-beat sense of humor. I’m a big technology geek. I have 5 computers and I want more.”
Is there a scene or scenes that pull at your heart strings that you’ve written?
“There certainly is, but it’s not available yet.” Book 5 is what she did share. So, get ready readers. The tissues may just need to be handy for the next installment.
Social Media for the Author:

Twitter Facebook Facebook Website
Click on the word to go to the Author Link!

Advice to a Newcomer/New Author from the Author:
I always advise upcoming authors to self-publish through Amazon for the first three months to take advantage of the free promotions there. Also, put your money into your cover and your editing. Those are the two things that seem to get the most attention. No matter how good you think you are at editing, you need someone else to do it.

Author Sydney Landon excerpt from Fighting for You

When she opened her mouth to protest, he raised his hand to silence her. “For years I have lived a life that you can’t even imagine. I have done and seen things that would shock you, disgust you, and scare the hell out of you. Don’t even bother to doubt me, because even I run from the things in my head. So I can’t make any promises to you, Ellie, because more than likely I’d end up breaking them. I’m not going to be the man you settle down with or the man who gives you a family, but, honey, I can be the man who makes your skin burn, your toes curl, and who makes you lose your inhibitions and scream. That I can promise you.”Naturally, the first plate she reached for slid out of her hands like a Frisbee and flew across the kitchen to land at Declan’s feet. She then compounded the disaster by racing forward to clean it up at the same time that he bent down. She saw stars as their heads crashed together and she promptly fell backwards on her butt from the impact.
“Whoa, Ellie, are you alright?” Declan laughed.
With a groan, she covered her face and hoped that she would simply disappear. “Oh, Calgon, take me away!”
She heard Declan chuckle above her before his hands gently pried hers from her face. “You’re a little dangerous, aren’t you? I’m all for a woman falling at my feet, but how about leaving the china out of the equation next time, sweetheart. Where is your broom?” She pointed him to the closet in the corner. He pulled her to her feet and patted her butt. “I hope everything is okay back there after your fall?” Speechless, she could only nod her head as he walked to the closet for the broom. He made short work of the cleanup and she set her small dining room table without further incident.
“So…Um, I’m kind of surprised to see you,” she began.
“Are you really, Ellie? Usually when I lick a woman’s tongue, they aren’t surprised to see me. Some might even look forward to it.”
Ella’s fork clattered to her plate as she stared at him. He continued to eat as if they always had conversations like this. “But…I just didn’t…”
He swallowed a bite and turned to her. “You want to be involved with me?”
“Involved?” Surely, he didn’t actually mean what it sounded like he meant and she wasn’t about to make a fool of herself yet again by assuming.
Declan took his time wiping his mouth with a napkin before answering. “My idea of what that means will probably be a little different from yours, Ellie, but I think you get the idea. I like you, I want you, and I think you feel the same. I’ve tried to step back even though I knew how you felt about me because you are just too good for someone like me.”
When she opened her mouth to protest, he raised his hand to silence her. “For years I have lived a life that you can’t even imagine. I have done and seen things that would shock you, disgust you, and scare the hell out of you. Don’t even bother to doubt me, because even I run from the things in my head. So I can’t make any promises to you, Ellie, because more than likely I’d end up breaking them. I’m not going to be the man you settle down with or the man who gives you a family, but, honey, I can be the man who makes your skin burn, your toes curl, and who makes you lose your inhibitions and scream. That I can promise you.”

Leave a Reply

